Why I hate writing

Why I hate writing

ยท

4 min read

For me, writing has been a nightmare, gosh I hate writing.

Right from college I have not been a person who plays with ink and paper. I don't even take down notes when the lecturer is teaching, I'll wait till after class and then photocopy from my colleague.

I have always ran away from anything or role that has to do with writing. Not until recently.

My journey into tech was rather a slow one, or should I say an interesting one.

I started out as a digital marketer, and boy-o-boy, meet the only digital marketer that hates writing....lol.

It was frustrating coming across jobs that requires writing, and worst off wanting to pass an information online but can't really express myself nor articulate my thoughts.

I decided to beat this phobia by enrolling in a 1 month course on copywriting.

First day of class and the teacher said "You have to write atleast 100 words everyday to be good at writing"

Guess what I did?

I never returned again to that class.๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ˜„

For over a year, I would just go online, post some random stuffs and go offline. But something fascinating happened.

These random stuff I posted began getting likes and comments and inbox messages of people wanting to learn more.

I was thrilled!

If only I can articulate my thoughts and learn how to write, people will gain insight into life, career choices and tech. And so I started putting out more writing and even though I'm not a really great writer, I believe these random lessons and thoughts will go a long way to help someone.

For me, I blog because I want more people to learn and grow as a designer and also know why they should be in tech.

Not everyone can be a software engineer or designer.

People shouldn't go into careers because it's trending or pay well and so my experiences and life lessons put into writing will help someone find clarity in life.

I will consider blogging successful when I start receiving mails of how my writing have helped people not to make mistakes in their career choice and also take a newbie techie to intermediate and expert level.

I'll keep on blogging about my journey I'm tech and I hope you can follow through and grow like I did.

If you are like me who never liked writing, I just want to let you know that you are not alone.

But don't keep writing.

Even if no one reads, just keep writing, you never know who might stumble upon your blog post one day and find the answers he/she seeks.

thejosephkalu